Network Members


Name: Jamie Baxter, PhD
Affiliation: Geography and Environment, Western University
Contact: jamie.baxter@uwo.ca, mocwe.uwo.ca, coarep.uwo.ca
Research Interests

  • Social aspects of wind energy development (social acceptance)
  • Community-owned wind energy development
  • Environmental justice

Name: Jordan Eamer, PhD
Affiliation: Geological Survey of Canada - Atlantic
Contact: jordan.e
amer@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca
Research Interests

  • Offshore wind installations in Atlantic Canada:
    • Infrastructure required
    • Geologically suitable foundation conditions
    • Shallow subsurface geological models
    • Geotechnical characterization of offshore sediment types
Organization: Meteorological Service of Canada
Names: Franco Petrucci, MBA, MSc, franco.petrucci@ec.gc.ca; Simon-Philippe Breton, PhD, simon-philippe.breton@ec.gc.ca
Research Interests

  • Icing forecasting
  • Wind ramp forecasting
  • Solar radiation forecasting

Name: André Bégin-Drolet, PhDAffiliation: Université Laval
Contact: andre.begin-drolet@gmc.ulaval.ca
Research Interests

  • Wind energy in cold climate and icy conditions
  • Icing assessment and impact on wind energy production
  • Wind Energy alternative operational strategies (cold climate)
  • Load measurements
  • Mechanical engineering design

Name: Adrian Ilinca, PhD
Affiliation: Université du Québec à Rimouski, Wind Energy Research Laboratory
Contact: adrian_ilinca@uqar.ca
Research Interests

  • Adaptation of wind energy to cold climates
  • Wind turbine icing
  • Renewable energy hybrid systems
  • Wind-diesel systems

Organization: Energy & Power Innovation Centre - Mohawk College
Names: Laith Al-Musawi, MASC, P.Eng, laith.almusawi@mokawkcollege.ca; Mariano Arriaga, PhD, P.Eng, mariano.arriaga@mohawkcollege.ca; Sofia Guzman, PhD, sofia.guzman1@mohawkcollege.ca; Patrick McInnis, patrick.mcinnis@mohawkcollege.ca
Website: https://www.mohawkcollege.ca/ideaworks/energy-power-innovation-centre-epic
Research Interests

  • Grid integration modelling
  • Protection & control lab

Name: Joshua Brinkerhoff, PhD, P.Eng
Affiliation: School of Engineering, UBC Okanagan
Contact: joshua.brinkerhoff@ubc.ca, https://cfdlab.ok.ubc.ca/
Research Interests

  • Wind turbine aerodynamics
  • Modelling induction/blockage effects
  • Wind farm/atmosphere interactions
  • Computational fluid dynamics

Name: Andrea Kraj, PhD, P.Eng
Affiliation: University of Saskatchewan, Fulbright Arctic Scholar
Contact: dr.kraj@andreakraj.com
Website: www.andreakraj.com
Research Interests

  • Microgrids & virtual power plants
  • Smart cities & sustainable communities
  • Energy security
  • Icing mitigation and innovation of wind turbines in cold climates

Organization: Nergica
Names: Dominic Bolduc, MASc, dbolduc@nergica.com; Marc Defossez, PhD, mdefossez@nergica.com; Charles Godreau, MEng, P.Eng, cgorearu@nergica.com; Oliver Pare-Lambert, MSc, P.Eng, oplambert@nergica.com
Research Interests

  • Distributed wind and hybrid systems
  • Remote sensing (LIDAE)
  • Wind turbines in cold climate and icing forecasting
  • Wind turbine control and end-of-life issues
  • Blade inspection and damage evaluation

Names: Rupp Carriveau PhD, P.Eng and Lindsay Miller, PhD, P.Eng
Affiliation: University of Windsor
Contacts: rupp@uwindsor.ca and ljmiller@uwindsor.ca
Research Interests

  • Wind farm lifetime extension
  • Offshore wind
  • Innovative project financing

Name: Fahed Martini, PhD, P.Eng
Affiliation: Université du Québec à Rimouski, Wind Energy Research Laboratory
Contact: fahed_martini@uqar.ca
Research Interests

  • Wind turbine icing
  • CFD modelling and simulation
  • Wind energy engineering
  • Computer-aided engineering - ANSYS

Name: Lukas Swan, PhD, P.Eng
Affiliation: Renewable Energy Storage Laboratory at Dalhousie University
Contact: lukas.swan@dal.ca, resl.me.dal.ca
Research Interests

  • Battery research at cell, module, pack level
  • Wind, solar, tidal, and electricity grid modelling with energy storage

Name: Curran Crawford, PhD, P.Eng
Affiliation: Institute for Integrated Energy Systems, University of Victoria
Contact: curranc@uvic.ca
Research Interests

  • Digital twins, ML and UQ for wind energy and battery systems
  • Floating offshore wind energy for CO2 capture and E-fuels production
  • Grid and micro-grid integration of wind energy with E-transport and demand response

Name: Phil McKay, MASc
Affiliation: Canadian Renewable Energy Association
Contact: pmckay@renewablesassociation.ca, https://renewablesassociation.ca
Research Interests

  • Site-wide optimization, aerodynamics, capacity increases, hybrid technologies
  • Grid integration, reliability services, resource forecasting
  • Sustainability, biomimicry, nature-based solutions

Name: David Wood, PhD
Affiliation: University of Calgary
Contact: dhwood@ugalgary.ca
Research Interests

  • Small wind turbine aeroelastic modelling
  • Fundamental wind turbine aerodynamics
  • Wind power forecasting and wind resource assessment
The Wind Energy Institute of Canada advances the development of wind energy across Canada through research, testing, innovation and collaboration.